Review: The Books of Fairyland

Sorry it has taken so long for me to post another review. I meant to post last weekend but a combination of my own deadlines and an out-of-town wedding required I postpone. But without further ado, my review for Arthur Butt’s series, The Books of Fairyland. Generally I like to only review one book at a time, but this time you get a double dose of fun.

rod of reality pic    The Goblin War pic

Rod of Reality: Summary

The Rod of Reality is missing, and the multi-dimensional universes are about to collide. Earth and Fairyland face destruction. AJ, an ordinary mortal, and Princess Tanaquill, a quirky teenage elf who would rather be playing soccer, set off to find the rod and replace it in its rightful place. They don’t have a clue, but what could go wrong – two teenagers off on an adventure, battling monsters and villains, joking and arguing, while they do the barnyard dance of romance – the sole thing at stake – the fate of the world.

Length: 283 Pages

Release Date: May 31, 2015

The Goblin War Summary:

AJ has been summoned to Fairyland to fight a goblin army. He doesn’t know how, nor do the elves who called him. Nevertheless, he and Princess Tana set off to do battle.

The war turns ugly. Princess Tana is captured. AJ must rescue her and learn why rumors say she’s his girlfriend.

Length: 271 Pages

Release date: September 7, 2015

About the Author:

Arthur Butt is an army veteran, plant manager, and longtime resident of Long Island, who now lives in Florida with his wife, two puppies, and a lazy Siamese cat named Snoopy. He is the author of B.E.V., Valley of Shadows, and Dragonkiller.


This review will be based on the The Books of Fairyland series, rather than visiting each book separately. Please note: It appears there will be one more book in the series, so it will not be a complete review on the whole series.


This series starts with a really cool concept, and that is the Rod of Reality. The Rod of Reality does what you would think it would do. It controls reality. So, when it is stolen from Fairyland, reality is not what it should be. Now, lakes are turning to deserts, dimensions are colliding, dinosaurs are appearing in Fairyland, and then disappearing again, etc. I love stories where worlds collide.

Also, if you are a fan of fantasy, this series has just about every type of fantastical creature you can imagine, jam packed into action scene after action scene.  If you love perilous situations, you will have plenty of them between the two books.


One of my main concerns was the character, Princess Tanaquill, the elf princess in Fairyland. She seemed less of an elf princess and more of a mortal with special abilities. She has technology (computer, tv, cell phone), speaks like an American, eats American food, and is well-versed in pop-culture. Explanations are given for these facts, but I would have liked more of a distinction between the human world and Fairyland.

Another concern was that the series felt a bit cliche. There were certainly unique aspects, such as the Rod of Reality. But I felt that a lot of the dialogue was a bit cliche, as well as the second book was more similar to Lord of The Rings, than I would have preferred.

Overall Review:

The Books of Fairyland series has a lot of unique aspects and is full of action and humor. However, I wish Princess Tanaquill were less modern and there was dialogue/events that I found a bit cliche.

I give The Books of Fairyland Series 3 out 5 stars

(My rating is similar to Good Reads where 3 stars means I liked it, just not as much as I was hoping.)


The Books of Fairyland series was published by Clean Reads Publishing. Therefore, it has no swearing, no graphic violence, and no sexual situations. It is appropriate for anyone who is old enough to read Young Adult novels.


The Books of Fairyland series is currently available digitally at various locations. You can purchase it by clicking on one of the links below.


Barnes and Noble